Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

In the argument that the woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern are not uniquely Palean, the author concludes that these particular baskets have been found in other areas and cannot be strictly Palean. Due to unanswered questions, however, the argument is not cogently persuasive. More information is needed to evaluate the author’s conclusion.

While the specific baskets could not have been brought to Lithos by boat today because of the Brim River being deep and wide, the author fails to consider the geographical layout of the prehistoric village. The author assumes that the Brim River was located in the same place, and was just as large years ago. This is not necessarily true. Geography changes over time and the river that separates Palea from Lithos now, could have not even been there in the past. The river could have also been smaller and not so deep so boats could get across it. To strengthen this argument, additional information on the characteristic of the land from when the baskets were being made are needed.

Additionally, over the years it is possible that the baskets could have floated their way over the river. The author fails to consider the rivers current. Baskets could have been left in Palea, and over the years gotten caught in the city’s storms and been put into the river, where the current took them to another town.

How time frame in which archaeologists found the baskets in Lithos is a big question. The woven baskets could have been carried over the river years later after boats and newer transportation was created. The author assumes the baskets were found in Lithos at the same time they were being woven in Palea. This weakens the argument that the baskets are not unique.

Although the distinctive pattern of woven baskets could not only have been made in one location, the author’s argument is not persuasive. Without additional information on the years the baskets were in each city, the correlation is not concert enough to say the baskets are not uniquely Palean.