The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

There are numerous causes for Environmental problems, in which one of the cause is consumer generated waste. Here, statement provides one of the way to solve the same. But, certainly this is not a best way of resolution and it does create other kinds of problems and it does not looks like a permanent solution.

For instance, suppose in a certain city, there is a limit of trash acceptance is 500gms for each household. And for example one household produces on average of 1000gms of trash because of large number of people stays in the house, they had to hold back remaining 500 gms and it will goes on increasing day by day, which will create devastating diseases because of huge accumulation of waste over the time or that particular household may try to throw it away out of the city when no one looks.

So, if we consider above instance, it is not at all solving the prime problem as stated. In fact it would create other kind of problems.

Also, other negative affect will be limits will also applicable to other degradable waste which is not at all a problem for environment as environmental problems are created by mainly because of non-degradable items. This makes to restrict people’s freedom to buy anything they want.

Best way to solve the environment problems is to prevent the items which are not environment friendly where it actually producing in factories. For example, to prevent the production of plastic bags, and instead they can produce paper bags in place of plastic bags. And, other way like, whatever the items which are non-degradable should be recycled or can be used for other purposes.

In the end, I would like to say that the confining the amount on trash acceptance does not solve the primary problem of environment, instead there are other effective ways to eradicate the cause of environmental problems as explained in above.