Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Scientific researches and developments make grounds for the economic growth, independence, well-being, and myriads of other advantages. Thus, no government is inclined to impose restrictions on any kind of scientific research, unless something forces the government to do it. Governments, in the democratic societies, are a public institution in which they should remain answerable to the all members of a society. Whether few or many, governments need to restrict researches for the three different causes: economic, environmental, or moral causes.

First, the financial restriction in funding researches is needed, for the budget of governments is restricted. Governments should be answerable to the taxpayers. Other than researches, health capitation, the salary of military, retirements, and the public education is due to governments to pay. As the budget is limited, any undue fund on researches might provoke discontent in a society, especially when facing a budget deficit. Furthermore, financial restriction is inevitable because usually the demands for backing the projects is much more than the supply of the government. Naturally the funding of any research becomes limited and research projects either have to get into the waiting lists or be canceled.

Secondly, restriction is needed because the government must observe the moral laws and human rights. Consider the experiments on the human cloning. Molecular Biologists, are becoming able to make copies of humans whose genome is identical to our own; scientists can make copies of us. When we had an accident, we can use the organs of our clone. Furthermore, “the copy” can be used to see whether certain drugs have any side effect or not and then be administered on our own body. But what if we are the clones of the other people? As it is not morally correct to use a human as an experimental model, the government would deface its reputation by allowing such researches to be conducted.

And finally, the potential environmental problems, make governments to restrict the researches. For instance, NASA is trying for years to persuade the U.S.A government to give permission to substitute the liquid fuels with the nuclear fuels. This substitution makes the trips over the atmosphere to be so much cheaper than what currently costs. Government restricts such development because if the radioactive trashes even with the lowest probability dispersed on the people, again the government is the first one to be guilty.

In short, as discussed in the body paragraphs, governments are obliged to limit the scientific researches and developments and it is not mainly at their own discretion not to do so. First, financially it is needed to confine researches as the budget is limited. Secondly, the limitation needs to be imposed on researches that might have moral consequences as the cloning of human does have. And last, those researches possessing the risk of environmental hazards should be confined as much as possible in order to preclude disasters.