Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

Scandal is an action or event that is considered morally or legally wrong and causes general public outrage. Mostly, scandals cause irritation and aim to defame or in other word damage the good reputations of persons. In many cases, scandals distract the attention of people and audiences from the crucial social or political problems; scandal comes in the form of a small gossip on the social media and in the blink of an eye it widespread across the country. Since, the aim behind most of scandals is to harm people, I do not agree with the statement "scandals are useful".

Although, scandals in most of the cases are based on false allegations their effect is irreversible and once they came out into public they cannot be retrieved. A person is negatively affected by small rumour that costs him unaffordable price to regain his reputation. Unfortunately, people easily forget your success and only remember a scandal about you. An Egyptian actress was a victim of a scandal and she lost her fame and personal life because of it. A rumour was spread that she was cheating her husband and was dating a young man. However, her husband did not believe this silly rumour at the beginning, the repetition of this subject caused him to divorce her. Most of her fans got mad of her and blamed her. By time, she could be able to prove that she was innocent, but it was too late and no one listen to her. Those kind of scandals aim to disrepute the person and damage his/her life.

From another perspective, scandal is a common political tool that is used to divert the people attention from the current situations. When the corruption increases in any society the rumours and scandals increase. A false report about a company that produces canned beans in Egypt can be a good example to illustrate the role of scandals in politics. According to the report, the company used carcinogenic chemicals that make the beans cooked easily in a short time. This subject was widely spread in Egypt and most of people there were taking and concerned about it. This fake scandal was mainly to distract the people from a current minister who was accused with corruption and bribery and he did not imprisoned.

Some people dispute that scandals are useful because they shed the light on critical problems that are not appropriate for a speaker or a reformer to take about. While, from my point of view, scandals could be contagious and the continuos taking about these acts may increase the curiosity of people to try such acts. Considering the importance of scandals in grabbing our attention on problem that speaker could not take about, would increase the spread of scandals among us and could harm innocent people.

In conclusion, scandals undoubtedly focus our attention on different problems, but it could not be considered useful because most of the scandals based on false claims and because they are not adopted by a speaker, no one would take the responsibility to investigate and find the truth beyond any scandal.