"Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make a

There are conflicting views of people about the basic operating mission of corporations. Some believe that it should promote well being of societies and environment while others believe that they should make economic sense and make as much money as possible. The common thing in both view points is the way you want to look at the very purpose of corporations.

Socialistic oriented people would certainly see the corporations as means to do common good, while people with capitalistic approach will regard corporations as purely economic institutions whose primary aim is to accumulate as much wealth as possible. Although there as different view points but we must also understand that there is a stark difference in public corporations as well as private corporations. The primary purpose of public corporations is larger public good, while private corporations work for the monetary incentive.

More often than not public works are highly subsidized on monetary front. Private corporations do not see any benefit in investing their resources if, there is not a substantial direct or indirect gain. This is one of the main reason why private corporations do not engage in public works. Public corporations are run by government and hence, provide public services at nominal prices which does not allow them to make money, rather government pays all of their costs to sustain the extent of public services.

private corporations, by engaging in profit making activities allows them to create larger social impact, such as creating jobs, producing high value goods. These all activities are not directly perceived as being socially responsible, they do have larger economic impact on society and country. Private corporations bring economic growth to the country and hence should be considered as responsible for well being of societies.

Also, corporations engaged in manufacturing negatively affect the environment by inducing multiple types of pollution and hence are accountable towards the improvement of environment. We have witnessed unprecedented focus towards environmentally sustainable practices in production and manufacturing. In some countries corporations are mandated to contribute in socially responsible funds and initiate social development activities. These are the measures to doubly ensure that corporations who are focused on making money should have some focus towards public good.