Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns

In arguing that schools should teach morality or that schools should instead teach logic, one presents these methodologies as exclusive of one another. Is it not possible to teach both logical reasoning and morality in our schools? Logic on its own does not neccessarily lead to a moral society but it lays the foundation on which the ideas of morality can be built.

Thinking in a purely logical manner does not always lead to truly moral behaviour. This is an issue covered by authors and film directors many times. For example, the film equilibrium depicts a society in which emotions are suppressed by medication and thus citizens live their lives following cold hard logic. The inhabitants of this quite often exhibit very immoral activities, treating the homeless with outright disdain and violently punishing those who act out of line. Indeed many moral traits do not make particular logical sense. If your goals revolve around personal success then there is no logical reason to help those less fortunate than your self.

However with some understanding of logic, the lessons of morality are far more easily taught. Exhibiting empathy requires, almost by definition, the ability to step through another person's chain of events to understand their hardship. Without applying to logic to this process it is easy to dismiss the problems of the needy as merely of their own doing.

In summary, morality and logical reasoning need not be exclusive to one another. To create a truly rounded students there must be a balance between these two.