To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Throughout the world, study in society has never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although many people believe that major cities play a vital role in a society, the issue as to whether they may help researchers understand the most important characteristics of the society remains controversial. As far as I am concerned, to fully understand the characteristics of a society, people should not only look at its major cities but also consider suburban areas and rural communities.

Firstly, when it comes to studying a society, especially a modern one, scholars should put diversity on top of the list. This attribute is displayed clearly in major cities due to their numerous population; citizens in metropolises might have different race, ethnicity, religion or social class. For example, in the past, American experienced successive waves of immigration, particularly from Europe; now a notable city like New York is home to neighborhoods such as Little Italy, Chinatown, Spanish Harlem, Hell’s Kitchen and so on. On the contrary, small towns in rural America tend towards homogeneity, and their residents are little exposure to racial or ethnic diversity.

Secondly, culture is another feature that sociologists should look into. Due to the diversity in major cities, each group of citizens may have their own languages, traditions, lifestyles and foods. For instance, American-Vietnamese in Little Saigon usually celebrate Lunar New Year besides Christian New Year; in the Tet festival, people often wear red clothes because they want to have lucky for the upcoming year, embellish their houses with peach flower and eat some traditional foods like sticky square cake, boiled chicken, etc. As a result, local individuals in large cities could experience diverse cultures. Meanwhile, residents in rural areas may only commemorate original festivals such as Groundhog Day or Thanksgiving.

Finally, researchers might examine disparity in education between cities and villages. In major cities, there are many kinds of universities such as private colleges, state universities, design institutes or schools of performing arts; therefore, graduates could have a variety of schools to attend. At the same time, students in small towns have limited choices since there might be few universities; in case they want to pursue higher education, they have to leave home and go to bigger cities. Additionally, students in remote areas who have confined finance could be discouraged from attending college, which would reduce the level of education in those towns.

In conclusion, when it comes to understanding the most important characteristics of a society, people tend to look at its major cities. Nevertheless when attempting to comprehend the entire society, one must examine all of its communities, including small towns and rural areas.