Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. however should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices

How important is it to maintain old buildings? should history stand in the way of progress?

Ina modern society, people always face the dilemma to choose preserving old and historic buildings or replaced by modern ones, this problem is much debated, so before rendering my opinion, i think it is necessary to take a glance at the arguments for this point are listed as follows

- It is quite easy for average people to choose protecting historical buildings because of the obvious reason that they are part of a country's heritage and it can show us how people lived in the past. As an example, Ichan - Kala in Khiva city where was the site of the khan palace has had a long standing history as long as over 2500 years. Through it we not only can remember many famous historical events but can also know than ancient people have grasped very advanced architecture techniques and methods

- But at the mean time although buildings have many advantages it also has some disadvantages, such as they are now under threat originally had a civic function and were built in city centers. Examples of these buildings are theatres and cinemas. They are being replaced by supermarkets or modern cinemas complexes that cater for the demand of the twenty first century. What is more, government should spend money on taking measures

- However, there is a further more subtle point we must consider. For instance, these buildings give character to cities and attract tourists. In spite of the fact that, we can learn from books pictures and by visiting museums, nothing can compare with the actual historical buildings themselves which can bring vivid educational material to us

In a nutshell, building of historical value should definitely be protected rather than destroyed. As Amir Temur said " without history, there is no future"