In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

It is true that people can expect longer live in the industrialized countries. While individuals and local communities will experience serious problems due to this alarming trend, governments can take steps to mitigate these potential problems.

Both governments and societies will face numerous problems of growing expectancy of living longer. The main issue is that more people will be of retirement age who will be eligible to receive a pension. Additionally, the proportion of younger, working adults, will be smaller, and governments will therefore receive less money in taxes in relation to the size of the population. In other words, an ageing population will mean a greater tax burden for working adults. Furthermore, pressure will rise in the demand of public and private healthcare, and young people will need to look after their elderly relatives.

There are several actions that governments could be taken to curb the problems described above. Firstly, a solution would be to increase the retirement age for working adults, perhaps 65 to 70. Nowadays, people of this age tend to healthy enough to continue the job. A second measure would be for governments to encourage immigration in order to increase the number of working adults who pay taxes. Finally, governments could invest money in the building of health care, accommodation and transport facilities for the growing number of older citizens.

In conclusion, it is clear that many problems will rise due to the growing trend of life expectancy, but both governments and individuals need to be taken steps to lessen these problems.