Disabled people thought being the citizens of country have always remained a subject of sympathy instead of gaining equal states in the society what should government do to improve their condition

Although handicapped people are often subjected to sympathy of abled citizens, they are highly unlikely to have similar opportunities as others. In order to increase their social states, authorities can improve their health conditions and make them take part in country’s workforce as well.

Firstly, government needs to identify their individual in capabilities, and then should find out possible solutions with the involvement of health care workers. As different people have different limitations and different skills, clinics should be organized to assess them individually, and they thereafter can be provided with tailor made programs to enhance their wellbeing. For example, hemiplegic patients with mild to moderate upper limb weaknesses would be able to perform most of their day today tasks if they are provided with and trained to use variety of simple orthoses and prostheses. Likewise, hearing aids are capable of improving the quality of life of people with hearing difficulty to a large extent. Therefore this approach offers them a feeling of validity and ability to do particular things that they were not able to do earlier.

In addition, in cooperating disabled people in country’s labor force would alter the way other people look at them, and certainly the gap between two parties will reduce. Were they to assign duties according to their weaknesses and abilities, they would contribute to boost country’s economy. Not only does it help to grow economy, but will also build their self-esteem and enhance the way they live. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Colombo University in which they claim that when handicapped youths engage in work, the chance of developing psychological diseases such as anxiety and depression drops by 90%.

In conclusion, rulers can take actions to offer disabled citizens a higher quality life rather than only to act sympathetically. Two prime suggestions are to find solutions for their health related problems and to employ them in suitable work places.