Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The rate of crime surges with each passing year. The essay highlights innumerable reasons behind it and possible solutions that could be adopted to keep a check on such activities.

The first and foremost aspect can be that people indulge in criminal activities as they do not get sufficient punishment for the crime committed. The government should impose strict punishment depending on the gravity of crime. For instance, in case of a heinous crimes like rape and murder, there should be capital punishment whereas for minor crimes like snatching and theft, there should be some years of imprisonment. At the same time criminals inside the prison should be given moral and ethical motivation through various seminars so that they do not commit the crime when they come out of the jail.

Secondly, unemployment plays a major role in the increase of crime as people get involved in such activities in order to earn a living for themselves and their families as they find it easy to earn money. There should be ample employment opportunities so that they do not indulge in crime for their living. Even the lesser qualified people should be encouraged to be self employed by giving various initiatives for starting up their own small business. This will keep the youth busy in their lives, giving no time for thinking of crime.

To recapitulate, strict implementation of punishment supported with moral rehabilitation efforts apart from the initiatives to work opportunities, can ti a great extent, play a pivotal role in eradicating crime from the society.