Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, there is a controversy about the role of the economy in the development of the country. Some people argue that the advert of the economy is always the crucial key objectives which governments need to pay the most attention, while others believe that it had better motivate parallelly economic activities with other domains. Despite some obvious benefits from economic sector, I strongly agree with the ladder opinion.

First of all, it is undoubted to affirm that economic advances play an indispensable role in the wealth of each nation. The first reason worth mentioning is that a strong economy can help a country earn much money to invest and accelerate the other domains. In other words, economic practices are the basement to provide capital for the construction of infrastructure as well as for technological research activities. In addition, improving standard living is the second advantage which the development of economy brings to residents because a competitive market probably leads to the diversification of goods and create more employment. Therefore, positive economic changes can increase income not only for the public area but also for the domestic area.

On the other hand, beyond putting much emphasis on the national economy, authorities also should take some other sectors into consideration. It is obvious that the progress of economy has to be based on the improvement of related sectors. For example, Vietnamese government, in recent years, has focused on the education which would contribute to educating more and more high-qualified employees, thus stimulate the competitiveness of the national economy. Besides, the sustainable development of each nation needs to be due to the combination of different areas. If countries only intend to build many factories with aim to boost the economy without taking into account of adverse effects on the environment, their next generations will surely be victims of the pollution and incurable diseases. Moreover, governments also must predict and have long-lasting solutions to deal with social problems such as the poor-rich gap or the increase in crime rate under the impacts of the economic advert.

In conclusion, although the investment for boosting the national economy is an aspect that government always need to concentrate on, I believe that authorities cannot afford to underestimate the relevant issues like the education and the environment to make sure that the country develops in a maintainable way.