Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an ongoing argument, that a foreign language should be taught from primary level of education will serve better, than in a later stage. I completely agree with the statement, as this age period will allow children to aquire new things easily when compared to the secondary schools.

At primary schools pupil are learning their mother tongue as part of education. If we are enforcing them to incorporate an additional language along with the primary language, it has it's own benefits and draw backs. A learning a new language can benefit the child in plethora of means, so we can forget about the potential difficulties arising from this.

An international language, which will be useful for various purposes as the child grows up, like if he needs to go abroad, work or even simply communicate with others. For example; a child with primary Hindi, if he is studying English in addition, can enable him to speak with tourists, or an international consultant or can understand meaning of movies. There are a lot of foreign languages that can be an asset if we aquire, during our school days. Primary school age is the time to learn the basics of all languages and sciences, these will serve as a foot-step in child's future development. Pupils are motivated positively, and they feel that they studied something other than the routine study by learning another language.

On the otherhand there are minor drawbacks, that should be considered seriously. Firstly students have a feeling of over burden as they are studying something extra. Some pupil cannot cope up with an additional subject with the curriculum, eventually it can alter their studies.

Overall, studying a new language along with primary education will boost the child to a higher cognitive level. When compared to numerous benefits associated with this, possible minor drawbacks can be avoided.