Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

As the world become increasingly globalised and fast-changing, there arises an essential need in mastering foreign languages in both communication and professional terms. Owing to this reality, it is of great importance that children be taught to attain proficiency in languages. Many experts consider that students should learn languages at primary school rather than secondary school. From my viewpoint, this is both beneficial and disadvantageous due to the following reasons.

On the one hand, starting to learn languages at primary school brings about great benefits. First, it has been scientifically proven that the sooner students are exposed to languages, the better they learn to master them for the brain is open to new words and patterns during preadolescence. Long-term exposure along with everyday practice may well lead to the proficiency in languages in the future. Second, studying additional languages at the very young age has incredible psychology benefits as it increases critical thinking skills, creativity and flexibility of the mind in young children. This may consequently result in considerable academic achievements in their future lives.

On the other hand, it could be rather disadvantageous for primary-school students to learn foreign languages. The main reason is that children aging from 6 to 10 may have difficulties in learning for they simly could not pronounce properly or memorise new words. This is because their brain may have not adjusted to be ready for a new language. If being forced to study, children may develop strong dislike and abandon the subject whenever possible, which makes it extremely hard to impart linguistic knowledge in the long run

To conclude, to start learning languages at primary school instead of secondary level has both benefits and disadvantages. Educationalists and parents should takes careful measures to enhance the good sides and reduce the negative effects.