Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion

There is no doubt that the children’s education and health are two of the most significant concern of parents throughout the world. This has led to a controversy of whether spending the time on doing homework or other kinds of activities is more fundamental for schoolers. While there are some strong arguments against the settling of homework, I still believe that it is a necessary aspect of education.

There are some reasons explain why some people argued that homework is a burden for children. Firstly, it is also crucial for students to have time for their social life and families. The children’s social skills, communication skills and soft skills are also needed to develop due to The fact that these can become their advantage for work life after school. Secondly, after school is a reasonable time for a child to pursue his or her hobbies and personal past times. As having spent eight hours of school for studying, students should be able to take their minds of work and enjoy the childhood. Finally, school day is already long enough, many parents would agree that the children are weary and requires some time to rest.

In spite of the base arguments, I support the view that homework has an important role to play in the schooling of children. Returning from school the lessons are still fresh in their minds. Therefore, it is easier to review what they have learned and also helps them remember better. Furthermore, doing homework and solving problems independently encourages the brain to apply what they have absorbed at school to finish the work. For example, when it comes to mathematics exercises, children need to read again and remember the formulas in order to solve them. Finally, as the knowledge is foreign, it is advisable for them to read the lesson before hand as homework to have a better understanding of the lessons the next day.

In conclusion, homework certainly has its drawbacks but I believe the benefits outweigh them in the long way.