Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste

Recycling is the key to reduce the amount of waste; however, many people are unsatisfied with the level of recycling of domestic waste. In terms of only solution, they suggest to make recycling a legal requirement. While a new legislation would help to solve the issue, it is not necessarily the only way to foster people to recycle their waste.

The primary method to enhance recycling of household waste is motivating citizens by making them aware of this sound management method of waste because lack of knowledge is the key factor that keeps them away from recycling. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Colombo University, in which they claim that 60% of the study population has not heard about recycling before. As a solution for that, local authorities should have to educate people to separate their waste into perishable and non- perishable trash and to handover non- perishable waste such as plastic/polythene, metal and glass to recycling centers. Moreover, the gap between waste generators and recyclers should be filled by establishing more recycling centers. In addition to making people aware, segregated waste collection need to be regularized and facilitated, thereby more recyclable domestic garbage can be obtained. For instance, were garbage trucks available regularly, people are rather willing to load them than to go searching for collecting centers.

Of course, laws can shape human behavior; so that, it can be utilized to increase household trash recycling. Imposing a new law will make people recycle more waste than before; however, this solution will be less efficient than above measures due to the fact that citizens are apathetic and disinterested. Therefore, this cannot be regarded as a sustainable solution for the current state of affair.

Low level of household trash recycling is a concern of many people; they need government to impose laws in order to solve this problem. Although a penalty can force citizens, who do not have knowledge and interest about recycling, to recycle more waste, it will not be sustained. Hence educate them on what they have to do while facilitating the process would be more effective and sustainable.