Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement,To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their wast

With the advent of technology, recycling industry has turned into a profitable realm of economy. It is argued that the participation rate of people to develop it as an ultimate goal is inadequate and cannot be spontaneously increased. I agree that the most reliable form of people’s persuasiveness to get involved in this project is through legislation and I will explain why.

On the one hand, despite all informative measures, people have not been induced to do their share because in my opinion, the necessity and merit features of recycling are more complicated to be understood by ordinary people. When citizens do not have a comprehensive perception of this scheme, they underestimate their active roles to take even tiny steps such as using several rubbish bins to separate waste at their homes. Furthermore, domestic refuse segregation is a time-consuming task and for many families who are reluctant to be responsible society members is not a preferred job to do.

On the other hand, throwaway society should be managed by stringent rules and could not be left on its own members’ desires. On the societal level, it was shown that people do not bother themselves due to environmental or economic grounds of where they inhabit, however, from a political perspective converting waste to reusable objects is what can preserve countries’ energy resources as well as raw materials; as a result, what government should do is taking steps to force dwellers to follow some predetermined regulations which might lead to them participating within this plan more conscientiously. People have to appreciate that they will penalize at least by fining if they act negligently against their duty. Experience shows that people in many cases abide by a law due to the fear of punishment or fine. For example, after installing cameras at highways the rate of speeding has significantly decreased. In essence, video surveillance sends a message to lawbreakers that if they violate the traffic rules they run the risk of being punished. I believe that we all learn from conditioning. If we need, therefore, to see eagerly cooperation of citizens in this project, we should trigger the first steps by imposing stricter supervision and then we would be witness of flourishing recycling approach in the years ahead.

In conclusion, although household waste segregation might seem a personal choice which can be reinforced by advertising or other soft informative options, I personally feel that people do not spend their time and energy on it where governments are too lenient to foster the pre-mentioned approach in the absence of proper laws.