Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that that should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

It is undoubtedly true that people argue about subjects should be taken by college students, either based on their passion or based on useful subjects, such as science and technology. I prefer that college students should study focused on their interest rather than particular subjects.

On one hand, people who recommend college students to expert on useful subjects, such as medicine, opine that those subjects will give benefit economically. This is because some subjects will have possibility to gain more wages when they graduated from university. The evidence of this experience especially have obtained more income than other profession, such as artist. This occurrence have been influenced by the condition of third-world countries where there are many problems should be tackled especially in health and science sectors and make those countries have given more allocation on those sectors. This make people tend to force college students focused on it.

On other hand, some people think that study whatever they like will make people to be expert on that sector. This is because they have high passion on that field and will make them learn about it in detail. Based on the research form experts, passion will lead people to expert on what they like because they learn about it intensively with full of happiness and gratitude. Moreover, experts argue that to solve the problems in society, collaborative knowledge between social and arts and science and technology will be essential. For instance, traffic congestion have been faced by big cities like Jakarta, capital city of Indonesia, not only can be solved by using scientific approaches but also social and economic approaches. This is why it is important to have people that experts on many sectors and it could be starts by giving opportunity for students to choose what they have to learn in Universities.

In short, although it might sensible to recommend college students to learn about subjects that useful for their futures, I prefer to give them opportunity to study based on their passion.