Some people think that the government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children while other think it is the fault of the parents Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Recent studies have shown that childhood obesity has become a pandemic across the nations giving rise to a multitude of non-communicable diseases in adulthood such as type 2 diabetes, hypertension and cardiovascular diseases. Different scientific communities have attempted to find the root causes for the aforementioned grave problem. It is widely argued that a government is accountable for the incline of childhood obesity. I strongly agree with the above fact as the policies and regulations implemented by a government have a direct impact on children's health.

Firstly, the economical policies of a government would determine the nature of investments of the multi-national food companies in a country, which would indirectly exert a negative impact on children's health. Currently, most of the nations operate an open economy where any multi-national food company could open their franchise restaurants without major obstacles. For instance, in Sri Lanka, there are various fast food outlets such as KFC, Burger King and Mc Donalds which sell unhealthy foods containing high sugar and fat content. About a decade ago these were not popular in Sri Lanka, however, nowadays most of the major cities have their outlets. One reason for the growth of the popularity of these chains is the flexible policies of the government as there are no established governing policies regarding sales, quality control and media coverage. Thus, it has directly led to the consumption of unhealthy foods by children attributing to the dramatic rise of childhood obesity.

Secondly, the educational policies which have been implemented by a government could contribute to the above growing problem. Current school syllabuses have emphasized the importance of the subject matter and downgraded the value of physical education. As a result, school children spend only a little time engaging in physical activities. Furthermore, the afterschool time has been utilized to complete homework, leading to the unavailability of time for exercises. For example, in Sri Lanka, only two periods have been allocated for physical education in schools which is hardly adequate. Hence, the sedentary lifestyle of children is another root cause for the increment in obesity in children. This unforeseen problem has been caused by the educational policies of the government.

In conclusion, I believe that the government holds responsible for the significant growth of childhood obesity due to its economical and educational policies. It is imperative to take necessary actions to mitigate the problem as a future of a nation would be destroyed by the current policies.