Some people think that the government should invest in teaching science rather than in other subjects for a country development and progress. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that governmental funding for education should mainly focus on science-based subjects instead of other fields in order to enhance a country’s development. While I agree that renovations in science and technology can bring about substantial benefits, investing equally in other subjects is crucial to a nation’s growth.

On the one hand, it is true that scientific and technological developments benefit a country in many ways. From an economic perspective, advanced techonology offers essential facilities and infrastructure for use in the construction industry, the energy industry and many other fields. For example, a country with technological advancements are capable of providing its energy industry with productive machines for exploiting natural resources, giving the industry the opportunities to grow. Also, if a country experienced scientific and technological progress, its citizens will be granted with satisfactory social services. For instance, that fact that developed countries such as the UK and the US are well-known for having oustanding healthcare systems is due to their developments in science and techonoly

On other other hand, encouraging students to pursue studies in other areas is vital to a country’s progress. Firstly, a nation required leaders and authorities to function normally. Since governers and politicians often pursue education in other fields such as politics, philosophy, law in their young age, investing solely on science-based fields may result in lacks of administrators in the future. Secondly, arts, literature and other fields of humanities contribute considerably to cultural richness of a nation. If a country is only developed in terms of its economy without enriching its citizens’ cultural life, such progress has no meaning as it does not make people happier. In other words, abandoning other fields means dismissing important aspects of human life.

In conclusion, I disagree with the view that government should invest mostly on fields of studies that are science-based, because I believe that other fields are important in equal measure.