Some people think one should stay all their life in the same job whereas others advocate changing a job from time to time Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Recently, the phenomenon of an insatiable desire for higher professional and social status as well as its corresponding impacts has sparked a hot-running pervasive debate among different groups, specifically employers and employees. In this regard, whereas some believe, the only road to career achievement and financial security is sticking to a permanent job, others are the opinion of change their career path, environment, or even both. In my mind, the benefits of experiencing a variety of workspaces and professional tasks can overweigh its demerits through the following compelling reasons.

On the one hand, the group, who believes in changing their job, are the ones that have a series of common characteristics, including but not limited to ambitious, open-minded, high-risk aversion. However, their insatiable desire for power plays the most significant role in between. Related to the aforementioned reason, recent scholarly findings indicate that approximately 87% of people with a higher desire for social status have the highest tendency to signal conspicuously their status through their career position. Moreover, they are firmly convinced, changing their professional activities and creating a larger professional circle will assist them to move forward at a sharper pace. Furthermore, there is not only their employees’ propensity to work for a while, but also the role of employers cannot be overlooked. To give an instance, long-term contracts impose prohibitive costs to the business owners, such as insurance, pension, so on and so forth, while short-terms have fewer financial burdens and legal issues.

On the other hand, old fashion, narrow-minded, and family-oriented, are the ones who have less inclination to do job-hunting. Pertinent to this type of characteristics, psychological research depicts that in contrast with the first group they enjoy a high level of doing routine, being stuck in a rut, and feeling financially safe. Furthermore, this attitude is more prevalent among the sole- breadwinners with the lower level of putting their family in financial trouble, thereby working in a permanent position would be their first and best choice.

To sum up, despite the convincing reasons of both sides of the arguments that its demerits cannot be underestimated, I opt to vigorously support the idea of being open to change career over the years of professional activities, since it creates a precious chance to learn and meet more people who are masters in their profession. Therefore, its drawbacks will not eclipse the benefits.