There are an increasing number of people who do not know their neighbours What causes this situations How to solve it

In today’s world, many people in metropolitan cities are not acquittance with others living in same neighborhood. This essay will address fast-pace of living style as the primary reason of this problem and propose monthly social gathering in the society as a viable solution to tackle this issue.

Many people in big cities live in highly hectic day which makes them do not have adequate time to develop friendship and bound with their neighbor in the society. This mainly because of they spend most of their times at the offices. Consequently, if this phenomenon is not solved by people in the society or by government, in the future, there will be no social support from people living in similar areas and people may live in very individual world.

To solve this issue, the local government or the people in the society have to initiate monthly or quarterly social meetings for people in the neighborhood. This way, people have a chance to interact with each other. A success story of this method had happened in one of residential area in the heart of Jakarta city. People settling in the neighborhood have to attend quarterly meeting conducted by the village head. If there is a head of the family do not obey this policy, they must pay large amount of money to compensate their absence. Thus, by having scheduled social gathering in the neighborhood, people are having sufficient social interaction with others in community.

To sum up, although people nowadays live in very busy lives, they have to allocate their time to know other members in the society.