University students should pay all the costs of their studies because university education benefits only individuals but not the society as a whole To what extent do you agree or disagree

Universities have functioned as the most important institution for the purpose of developing intellectuals in a country. Nowadays, more and more people have started the discussion over whether those who go to universities should pay the full tuition without any subsidy from the government. Some reckon that college students should not enjoy the subsidy from the government because it only benefits the students instead of the whole society. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this statement.

Higher Education is beneficial for not only the students themselves but also the whole society. In our society, it is knowledgeable people that propel the development of the new technology, medicine, or new ideas. For example, in medical industry, without people who are rich in the knowledge of pharmacy, we cannot develop effective medicine for use to fight the outbreak of disease. People might suffer from the epidemic severely, causing hundreds of thousands of death in the globe. Also, without the training of higher education, we might not able to explore the universe, like we do now, that much. We might still know nothing about what is happening outside our atmosphere. Higher Education also cultivates people's critical and logical thinking. Thanks to this, we are able to open our mind to the world, embracing the difference, and decreasing the discrimination. Therefore, I would not say that attending universities benefits only the individuals. It benefits the whole society.

Concerning the issue that who should pay for the tuition fee, I reckon that students do not have to pay the all costs of their studies but part of the costs, because I believe that higher education institute is like a profit organisation. Where there is the demand there is the supply. If a person wants to become knowledgeable, s/he needs to pay for it. Apart from the time s/he has spent, the person needs to be charged to enjoy the service, that is, teaching in this sense. However, because students will also contribute to our society and provide what they have learnt, it is not reasonable to have them pay for the all costs.

In a nutshell, I advocate for the idea that students do benefits our society in the long run and they do not have to pay for the all costs of their studies but partially of it.