It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is a common truth that teaching children how to distinct between good and evil during formative years is a necessity. Many assume that punishment should be employed to steer the offspring in the right direction. I agree with this prospect and below the reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details.

To begin with, a concept of right and wrong should be taught at yearly age because of two reasons. Firstly, offspring do not have moral standards and they will not be developed naturally. Secondly, there are formative years when consciousness and moral structures are being formed. If a kid was not brought up properly, he will undoubtedly show violent and immoral behavior which would unlikely be corrected in the future. Thus, everything should be done in a right time.

Furthermore, punishment must be used to guide children. In the XIX century psychologists discovered that children’s brains as well minds will not be completely developed till adolescence. In other words, children are not small adults and using dialogue or persuasion on them has little effect. This fact dramatically limits range of tools that may be used to discipline offspring and makes punishment, that can be used efficiently even with wild animals, an indispensable means of education. Consequently, to get results with young people, punishment ought to be utilized.

Finally, there is an open issue about what kinds of punishment are acceptable. Of course, physical one is prohibited by the law and it is out of the discussion. However, usage of emotional pressure is often advised by professional educators. For instance, ignoring a misbehaved child by a mother will motivate him not to repeat the actions that led to the punishment because at early age there is a deep emotional dependency on parents’ love that may be used. Moreover, other types of penalizing could be utilized as well from not letting watching TV to giving additional assignments at school. All those actions will showcase the offspring the difference between wrong and good deeds.

To sum up, a concept of evil and good is a cultural one and thus should be acquired via education at early age when child’s personality is being shaped. Punishment seems to be an effective means to do it.