The ownership of cars should be restricted to one per family in order to reduce traffic congestion and pollution To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, the average amount of cars is growing, thus it is believed, that their quantity ought to be declined for the sake of reducing traffic and pollution by the restriction in ownership to one car per family. Although, I agree that traffic jams and pollution are important issues of our reality, I do not support the idea of restriction, as I think that there should be other ways of addressing the problem.

On the one hand, rapidly growing percentage of vehicles number is the main reason of traffic congestion magnification and as the consequence air pollution. This bad influence on the quality of society life and their health in particularly. For instance, every day people have to waste time in long lines of traffic jams during their travelling to a job and back. At the same time, pedestrians suffer from quality of air which is spoiling every time from exhausted fumes. That is why this issue should be solved by different ways including the decrease of total amount of cars.

On the other hand, Government should not resort to drastic measures, like restriction in possession of private property. Firstly, because it may be unconstitutional step to forbid individuals the ownership of vehicles. Secondly, there is no any alternative to possession of own car, because it is the most convenient and comfortable mean of transportation. And finally, there are wide ranges of measures that can be undertaken in order to mitigate the impact of the traffic congestion issue. For instance, construction of new overpasses, extension of existing roads. Moreover, the implementation of solar-powered car systems should be encouraged and subsided by the state. Thus, the ownership freedom cannot be compromised for environmental goals.

To conclude, though I agree that the whole amount of cars should be declined to prevent traffic congestion and pollution, I believe that other measures should be undertaken as well.