People live longer today and so people should stay in the workforce longer.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The life expectancy has drastically improved over the past decade due to advancement in the medical facilities. Whether to continue working in old age or not, is a controversial debatable topic among people these days. I strongly advocate that people of a certain age should be allowed to take rest and should not work in organizations.

To embark upon, it is irrefutable that in this era, masses tend to live longer than before, but it does not specifically mean that they are fit to continue working. This is because, with the passage of time, people tend to attract more illnesses due to the deficiency of essential nutrients in their bodies. To illustrate, a recent study claimed that post the age of fifty; 70 percent of men and women have complained about a myriad of ailments: arthritis, joint pains, and bone weakness. Therefore, it will be unethical and cruel to elevate their sufferings at this crucial phase of life.

Besides having physical issues, some of these older people have expressed their desire to enjoy and relax during this time. They have spent more than 30 years devoted to working and commuting; moreover, they dedicated the earnings and precious time raising their offsprings. For example, 70 percent of the aged people spent their time in several recreational activities, other 30 percent prefer to stay back at home to take care of their grandchildren. And, these people have claimed that doing these activities make them happy and cheerful.

To conclude, I disagree with the aforementioned notion as various factors hamper the productivity of work in latter stages like sickness and exhausted routine. People should be given the freedom to choose what they want to pursue at a defined age without restrictions.