people sleep less than before in many countries. why people sleep less? what effect does it have individually and in society?

The number of hours people sleep has become less in recent times. This essay will examine causes and effects of this development.

First of all, there are countless reasons of sleeping fewer hours than before. One of the primary reason is that coffee is consumed more than ever before. For example, a survey by Youth Portal Turkey in 2018 revealed that 80% of correspondents drink coffee to stay awake till late night. There are, also, more electronical appliances such as televisions, computers and smart phones which are addictive devices. For instance, a study by University of Ankara in 2017 reported that 80% of teenagers would like to play online games rather than sleeping.

Secondly, there are innumerable effects of sleeping fewer hours on people and society. To begin with, the number of people who suffer from depression has risen exponencially. It is considered that when people sleep eight hours a day, they feel relaxed and happy. Unless the number of hours they sleep is risen, not only mental but also psychological health problems will be suffered. Further and more importantly, academic achievement will become less gradually. Students have to concentrate on courses to be successful consequently they should sleep enough to recharge their batteries and energy to work harder. For example, a study by Government of Turkey in 2018 revealed that 90% of students who have less than seven hours sleep daily couldnot pass university entrance exam.

By way of conclusion, in todays' world people donot sleep as much as they used to do in earlier times. High consumption of certain substances and enjoyable devices are primasry reasons of this development but it has a plethora of detrimental effects therefore people should give high importance on quality and quantity of sleeping pattern.