Some people think that young people are influenced more by their friends than by their parents or teachers. Do you agree or disagree?

There are different opinions in regard to the question of whether who influences the youth. While some people believe that friends have the major impact, others think that older generation takes the leading position in reference to this matter. Due to the fact that there are merits to both sides of the argument, I inclined to believe that the answer depends on specific circumstance.

From one point of view, it is common knowledge that friends influence on teenagers more than anybody else in developed countries nowadays. To my knowledge, for instance, according to the latest studies which were published in the New York Times Magazine on 10 January 2018, seventy five percent of youngsters that took part in magazine’s survey stated that in modern world they do not need to listen to their parents, as well as to follow their advice, and that is the main reason why they feel quite happy. Thus, this makes it clear whom the youth of the Western countries consider as their masters.

In spite of this consideration, from another perspective, there is a view that adults like parents and tutors have the main impact on young generation during their upbringing. The most cogent reason of this is the fact that in developing countries, such as Russia, youngsters live with their parents, and, thus, tend to follow their advice. To my experience, for example, a friend of mine decided to choose his profession after his father’s advice and now he is a senior lawyer in a large legal company. If he had listened to his friends, and had chosen another job, not only would not he have obtained his current position, but he also would not have been happy, because he met his wife at work. Hence, it is clear that parents have the leading role in the upbringing young people in particular parts of the world.

In conclusion, my personal view is that the answer to the question over whether the adults have the major impact on young generation or their friends depends on the country where the youth live since there are strong grounds for subscribing to this view. It is presumed that in future this difference will disappear due to the fact that the Western world’s life standards tend to spread all over the world.