Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

A glance at people's attitude toward their feeling about life brings to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether people were more happy with their lives in the past or nowadays. As a young educated adult, I believe that lifestyle is so complicated today which makes individuals less satisfied. Although my parents think that we have comfortable situation and technology assists us to be happy, my opinion is opposite.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that people tend to live alone without any help. I can remember that my grandparents used to live with us and support us financially and spiritually. I was raised near my grandmother so my mother could freely work outside of home. In contrast, right now, as a pharmacist and new mother, not only do I have to do housekeeping task, but also I must work in a crowded hospital to pay our bills. I do not have enough time to spend with my children and we cannot hire a baby sitter. A study at Harvard University, department of psychology, shows that people feel less secure in the current decade because they feel nobody care them and they are alone in difficulties without reliable support. Therefore, people are not glad compared to the past.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that stress rate is at the highest level. Previously people worked on farms or raised animals. They did not a lot of exams and deadline to pass. To be successful, we must be punctuate which put a lot of pressure on our shoulders. If we do not arrive on time to exam sessions, or do not get excellent score on SAT or GRE, we cannot enter to the university. As a matter of fact, our future is dependent on our test scores and it is a critical situation for every one.Recently, I read a study about depression and anxiety among people in societies. Educated persons in developed country have significantly more depression rate compared to people in developing countries. Thus, most people feel unsatisfied with their lives today.

Nevertheless, technologies are important advantages of being alive this century. People can be in touch with their families even from 1000 miles away from their home. For example, I speak with my parents daily via Skype. However, these technologies created some disadvantages. For instance, if we do not keep ourselves up to date, we cannot survive. Even a kid needs to know how to manipulate a self-phone. So, technologies have disadvantages as well.

Due to the aforementioned argument explored in the previous discussion, I declare that it is harder to stay happy and satisfied nowadays compared to the past.