Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at people attitudes toward athletics brings to light a question that has provoked a debate, namely, whether athletics is more important to spend on or arts. Some people may contend that athletics is more vital and keep people healthy. Some gym equipments are too expensive and poor individuals cannot afford them. However, I believe that government should support arts to balance lifestyle.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that not only are art utensil and supplies expensive, but also they can be used for one times and last for limited time. For example, each artist must have different brushes which has excellent quality. No one can use others' brushes and also after one year, those old ones are not usable anymore. While treadmill, mats, balls and other gym equipments can be used for more than one person and stay in good conditions for more than 10 years. Therefore, artists need more support since their budget is tight to buy whatever they need.

Another reason that I should deem is the fact that, leagues support athletics and people pay to watch their games. For example, a basketball mentor normally earns more than half million and private companies are willing to be sponsor for the teams. As a matter of fact, they do not need government assistantship. In contrast, most artist die in bad situation with no money and nobody is interested to buy their pictures or pay to see their performance. People normally buy fake pictures or download music from illegal sources. Hence, art cannot survive without external supports.

Admittedly, some sport field need noticeable funds because of less private support. Although people like to purchase football tickets, they would not pay to watch badminton competition. In these cases, states' governor must dedicate enough budgets to help teams. Nevertheless, they do not need to contribute much money since the equipments are not costly.

Due to aforementioned argument discussed in the previous statements, I strongly recommend to promote art centers and encourage people to participate in art activities.