Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although some people believe that students should understand ideas and concepts, some others assert that learning facts is more essential. This is an argument with which I totally disagree. For me, I could see the real face of the world through learning facts; and I gain experience by knowing more about facts. In the following paragraphs, I will explain my reasons.

To begin with, facts demonstrate the reality of life. It tells us the truth about people and oneself. When I was an enthusiastic youth, I had so many great ideas about life. From what I used to hear from my family and TV, I depicted an overall scheme of my future by developing ideas and concepts. However, as I became an adult, my viewpoint had changed as my life circumstances changed. I experienced the real life. I came to an understanding that some of those beautiful ideas can't be applied practically. For example, I was a smart boy; therefore, I decided to study and be an engineer. I visualized working at a huge well-known company. I was good at music too. I have developed good skills in playing the guitar. At that time, I thought it would be a great idea to become a guitar tutor too, as a part time job. Now I realize that those nice ideas were just nice ideas. With such high competition between people who want to be successful like me, I realized that life is hard. Any business is difficult and you have to be tough in order to succeed and to make a living. So facts thought me a good lesson that how the real world looks like. It thought me how people sell their souls and beat you down to get what they want and to achieve their goals.

Besides telling about the real life, true understanding could be achieved by learning facts. You can read many books, go to various workshops, and listen to a large number of lectures to learn how to raise your children. Nevertheless, none of these will be as effective as going through facts. Once you experience how it is hard to raise your children and how challenging is to take responsibility for another person, you get the point that facts plays a more important rule in life, not those amazing ideas and tricky concepts.

To conclude, everyone has a different viewpoint about this contention, but for me, I think ideas and concepts just give us a superficial understanding of life. Facts are more fundamental and teach us more about life.