Many people visit museums when they travel to new places. Why do you think people visit museums? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Predictably, museums are popular places for tourists to visit. Visiting museums is not only delightful, but also very instructive and eye opening. In my view, for several important reasons people are interested in visiting the museums. In what follows, I explain their reasons and illustrate the topic by introducing some examples.

The first reason is that museums are good symbol of the history of the place. Visiting the museums provides us much information about the people in the past, their lifestyle, customs, knowledge and technology level and more. Although some may argue that some information may not be accurate, for the information could possibly be changed deliberately over time, it seems that the museums demonstrates a good perspectives of the history of that place and supply us with a primitive picture of the people and their life in that place. For example, last summer I traveled to Esfahan, one of the historical cities in our country, and I visited several museums and old buildings. They depicted a very vivid picture of the city in the past and the lifestyle of people their. For instance, they used to build their grave underneath their houses, because they believed that the deaths’ souls would live among them. In addition, they did not like it when others walk other their graves, so they put their graves under their houses to avoid this from happening. Another good example was their schools. They used to take notes on animals’ skins. I saw many animals’ skins with handwriting on them in the museums.

Secondly, visiting museums are fun, especially the museums in which events and competition are often held. For instance, last year I visited a museum in which I joined a competition with some other visitors and we had to answer to questions about what we learned about the place and its history in the museum’s tour. It was amazing. First, we entered a quick tour in the museum while the museum’s guide introduced everything and provided us many of information about the museum’s items. After the tour, one could join a competition in the museum. The most motivating part was the gifts. A valuable award was considered for the winner of the competition.

In conclusion, museums are wonderful places because visiting them is both fun and instructive. One can quickly acquire countless valuable information about the place by visiting the museums. In addition, by knowing more about the place, one can contact the people in that place easier. For these reasons and more, people visit the museums.