11. The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The opponents conclude that the proposed measure would lead to a significant housing price, thus it is unreasonable. However, the proponents of the proposal claim that the influence of the policy would be very small so it would not harm the housing market so that much. While the statement may be reasonable, the assumptions which the conclusions base on is ungrounded, and thus unconvincingly lead to the conclusions. In order to fully evaluate the conclusion, several questions need to be answered.

Citing that the fact that ten years ago the similar prevention of the farming land established in Chestnut County had not caused the decreasing price of the house, the proponents conclude the price decreasing would not happen in Maple County after the measure. The proponents assume that the situation of the house market has not changed over ten years and the same thing would happen after a so long period. However, it is unknown. It is possible that ten years ago the demands of houses is not so serious as it is now. So even the available land disappeared sharply, the house price would not follow. But maybe now the housing market is so susceptible to the house land situations that once the house land decreased, the price would increase dramatically. To determine whether the price would increase sharply or not, the question that whether over so many years the house market still appears what it is used to be need to be answered. And if the answer is yes, the proponents’ conclusion would be much more reasonable.

Even though the time would not affect the house price, the proponents’ conclusion is still unfounded. The proponents make the conclusion by what happened in Chestnut County instead of Maple County. The proponents assumes that the two cities’ situation is very similar that the same thing would happen. But it is unwarranted. It is possible that the population density in Maple County is much larger than that in Chestnut County, or the available housing land in Chestnut County is much more abundant than that in Maple County, then house price in Maple County would still increase sharply after the measure. To fully evaluate the proponents’ conclusion, we should clearly answer the question that whether the house market situation is so similar that the proposal would make the same result. If the answer is yes, the proponents’ conclusion would be much more reasonable.

The opponents predict that once the proposed measure got passed, the housing price in Maple County would increase significantly. They make the prediction by the fact that after the restrictions of housing land adopted in Pine County, the housing price increased sharply there. The opponents assumes that the reason why the housing price increased is the government policy. But it is unwarranted. It is possible that other facts like population increasing or currency inflation leaded to the price increasing greatly instead of the policy. As the causal link is unclear, we can not predict that the price would be influenced greatly by the decreased housing land. If the question that what the main factor of the price change is gets answered, and the answer is the policy, the opponents’ prediction would be much more convincing.

In conclusion, both the proponents and the opponents failed to support their argument and prediction. Without those questions answered clearly, we are not able to tell how the housing price in Maple County would become after the proposal adopted.