135/137/140.The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Two situations happening in two places are compared and the an unsound conclusion of that is asserted by the author, which is that, less frequently assignments to students make their grades better and more of them stifle students' spontaneity to explore knowledge individually favored. The fact is undeniable, but the deduction made by the writer is rife with holes, in that he overlooks other explanations contributing account for such situation better and reasons based on flawed assumptions.

The author mentions that, although students in Sanlee receive more assignments than do students in Marlee, latter students usually get higher grades, and subsequently, casts doubt on the effectiveness of assignments. Here, the author wrongly compare things under disparate volumes, standards or conditions. For disciplines, the author just focuses on the number of homework without knowing the exact volume of each mission. For example, while Marlee students get only two or three days' assignment, the volume of each of them double or even triple compared to every one of that for Sanlee students. So can we still conclude that the heavy assignments in schools in Sanlee prevent students from doing their own assignments? And as for the standards, schools adjust the complexity and requirement of assignments according to their students' performance. What if students in Sanlee district predominantly manifest higher intelligence potential than those in Marlee? Thus, in situations above, only grades on scripts could not fully represent the real ability of students, are students obtaining a GPA of 3.5 from Harvard the same as those has such score from an unknown school? Lastly, education condition, local community economy condition could also be a latent factors affecting such argument. Because even Sanlee students are assigned more homework and get fewer grades, as long as their grades showed an upward trend if we see it from a longer period, the effect of heavy assignments should be assented.

In sum, simply comparing apparent score on scripts gives baseless conclusions for omitting important affecting factors. If the author tries to make his argument more strong, he should have cited more convincing evidence and explored wide-ranging backgrounds.