14. The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock has purposed that the company should cease its Endure manufacturing process to make more profits. He relies on the series of assumptions that the investment for the patent of Endure manufacturing process is useless. However, all of the considered surmises are shaky and questionable. In what follows, the most dubious hypotheses held by the president would be listed.

The first issue with the memo is the surmise that the purchase of new socks every three months is considered as the uselessness of the old socks. In other words, the author refers to a study in which depicts that the consumer buys sock every three months, and the writer has assumed that this new shopping is equal to the uselessness of the previous sock. Therefore, the two years of durability is wasteful since the consumers renew the socks after the three months. There are no clues that consumers through away the previous socks. Maybe they satisfied with the socks and prefer to have more socks. Or they try to match the color or design of socks with their clothing, and this attempt force them to buy socks more frequently. Thus, the purchases with the short interval duration would not approve that the previous socks are rubbish.

Another problem with the text is about the study which is conducted in the company's biggest market. The author has hypothesized that a big area of the market can be a fair indicator of the entire costumers of this company. Indeed, a survey or study can be generalized to the specified target population in the case the studied case studies have to represent the target public holistically. At this study, the representation factors at this survey can be as the gender, age, and climate condition. For instance, there is the possibility that at this survey mostly the young consumers of products are interviewed. It is obvious that this case studies mostly cares about style and fashion rather than durability. However, if this studied group has contained merely ten percent of entire consumers, would be logical and wise to generalized these studies finding to whole consumers? Furthermore, even if this group is the accurate indicator of the target population, the result of this study could not verify that consumers do not care about the socks' durability. There is feasibility that the feature of long-lasting is attached to the products, and the consumers considered this feature is a the ever-existed one. Consequently, they do not consider that as a distinguishable or striking feature.

Finally, the last issue is related to the hasty conclusion that the vice president has asserted that the company will make