17. The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The director of hospitals has recommended that the Ultra Clean produced hand soap should be replaced throughout the entire hand-washing stations in hospitals. This recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that it relies on the series of surmises all of which are skeptical and dubious. In what follows the most questionable assumptions, which can be challenged in one way or another, will be listed.

The first issue with the memo is about the comparison which is done at the beginning of the text. The director had compared a result of a study conducted in laboratory condition with a real situation in the hospital and assumes that the same outcome presented in the lab would be repeated in hospitals too. However, this contrast and comparison are not fair and substantial since two considered situations are irrelevant. It is obvious that a hospital does not possess the identical hygienic condition as the laboratory. Consequently, there is a possibility that the type of bacteria in the lab is not as severe as in the hospitals; so, the soap examined in the lab could defeat more bacteria in comparison of the hospital, where contains various and severe types of bacterizes. Thus, the comparison of two different conditions and expecting for gaining the identical result as the research is unsound.

Another problem with the text is that the director has considered one hospital in which the Ultra Clean soap was effective in the reduction of patient infection as an indicator that the effectiveness of this soap in whole hospitals. This generalization would be valid if the condition of the examined hospital with others is similar. For instance, there is a feasibility that the Workby hospital does cure the patients whose illness did not cause the infection. Meanwhile, another hospital in which the burnt or open-injuries patients get treatments, the number of infections is uncontrollable and this soap could not halt it. Besides, even the types of treatment of the entire hospitals are identical, this overgeneralization is not logical. Since the clearness of Workby hospital does not discuss in the memo. Maybe, the Workby hospital improves its hygienic conditions while started to use the Ultra Clean soap, and this reduction of infection is for the sake of this hyper-hygienic condition rather than the soap. Therefore, this hypothesis is also questionable and requires further evidence to validate.

Finally, even the aforesaid surmises are verified by the cogent clues, the recommendation of the director does not seem sound. The director has asserted that this soap should be replaced the currently consuming soap in the entire hand-washing stations to control the infection. The problematic part of this assertation is the entire washing stations, since not the whole crew in the hospitals has direct interaction with the patients, as a result, this comprehensive alteration seems useless. For instance, an employee who works in a separate room and far away from the patients does not require to consume the Ultra Clean soap, since he does not have an interaction with patients, this replacement of soap would not be effective in controlling the infection.

To wrap it up, the writer recommendation cannot be taken to be correct. As it relies on the series of surmises all of which are shaky and require further rearing reason for their validity.