1.Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough,

According to local hunters, Arctic deer populations have been declining in recent years. This decline coincides with the recent global warming trends which have caused the ice to melt. Since, the Arctic deer can no longer follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea, researchers have concluded that this is the cause for their decline.

The recent global warming trends on the melting of sea ice has some basis in the Arctic deer population decline. For instance the deer may be stranded on certain islands causing them to overgraze the land or starve. Furthermore, the ice may not solidify enough in the colder months, thus causing the migratory deer to crash through the ice and drown in the sea.

In addition to being unable to follow their migration patterns, global warming could have other negative impacts on the deer populations. The warmer climates could increase the competitiveness of resources on these islands, causing there to be fewer plants for the deer to graze on. Furthermore, an increase in Arctic deer predators could contribute to the decline of the deer population. Finally, there could be other environmental threats which would prevent the deer from reproducing at the same rate as they previously had before. Thus, their inability to follow their age-old migration patterns may not be the only reason for their decline, but rather overall changes in their environment.

Furthermore, external factors could also contribute to the decline of the deer population. For instance, local hunters could be over-hunting the deer population thus contributing to their decline. Other external factors would include the destruction of their habitat by humans or an increase in pollution.

It is inaccurate to state that their migratory patterns is the sole reason for the Arctic deer population's decline. Other consequences of global warming could be changes in their natural habitat, competitiveness, increased number of predators, or decline in their reproductive abilities. While the increase in melting sea ice correlates with the decline in deer populations, correlation does not equal causation.