1. The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Dr. Krap in his article acclaims that the research had been done by Dr. Field about the parenting culture of Tertia island is completely wrong, and according to his current study a suitable research method for figuring out the culture of babysitting is interview-centered instead of observation-based used by Dr. Field. For this conclusion, Dr. Krap uses a list of premises all of which are shaky and require further explanation to becomes accurate. The following paragraphs, I will list the considered hypotheses by Dr. Krap and reasons for its flawless.

The first assumption considered by Dr. Krap is the result of his recent study which shows an adverse picture about the babysitting pattern, at this research he used the interview-based research; in addition, had the conversations with children in the group of islands which also includes Tertia. According to this study, the kids’ responses illustrate they mostly talk about their biological parents rather than neighborhood who may take care of them and it is the against Dr. Field study which was observation based and only considered Tertia village, and depicted whole village take care of children. There are two issues with Dr. Krap’s study, first of all, his scope of study which is wider than Dr. Field, while the consideration area by Dr. Field was solely Tertia village, Dr. Karp considers a list of islands. There is the possibility that other islands considered for study possess the direct baby-sitting by parents; however, the scenario altered in the Tertia village and entire denizens participate in the rearing of kids. The result of this study is an indicator of the average of entire samples, with the consideration of higher population in the other islands in comparison of the Tertia village, the outcome of the average will be more aligned to the group with the high population which parents directly take care of their children. The second problem is the number of kids considered for talk and interview. Even with accepting the validity of the finding of Dr. Krap about the village Tertia, there is no information about the number of considered samples for study, there is the probability of the interviews with one-fifth of the whole kids in village which take care by their parents, which do not show the exact picture from the village.

The second surmise is the situations are identical during the last twenty years in Tertia village, however, it is skeptical, since during this twenty-year the observed kids by Dr. Filed are raised up and became parents. Therefore, maybe nowadays parents who experience parenting from stranger prevent the same pattern and prefer to take care of their own children. Consequently, the validity of the outcome of Dr. Krap study cannot make Dr. Field’s finding to be a mistake.

Finally, Dr. Krap assumes since the observation- based method shows the fallacious result, this method should not be used in the area of study over the culture. There is the possibility of the error by the finding of Dr. Field; nevertheless, this mistake does not underestimate the accuracy and applicability of this method in the field of anthropology. Maybe the method of implementation used by Dr. Filed was wrong; for example, he observed in the specific period and only some regions which are not candidates of public population system of parenting. The flaws of the execution of the method cannot underestimate the entire method. Besides, Dr. Krap is assured about their used method is proper and ends to the accurate data from this study; nevertheless, it cannot be accepted too. As there is a probability of the families who are introverted and do not prefer to have communication with a stranger. In this case, this method of the interview will not be effective.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned facts explicitly depict the falsehood of Dr. Krap’s assumption, and he should clarify the mentioned mistakes until his conclusion gets verified.