In 2010, the Elmrose Corporation housed all of its operations and employees in one office. Since then, the company has expanded to multiple locations and has seen profits decline steadily each year. Clearly, if Elmrose wants to boost profits, it should relocate all of its operations and employees to one office.

The following argument is flawed for many reasons. Primarily, it assumes that because of business expansion there has been a reduction in the profitability of the firm, causing the conclusion that housing company resources in one office to be invalid.

The primary flaw in the argument is that expansion is a key reason for the reduction in profits as claimed by the firm, without any evidence. Was it the business expansion that reduced profitability or was it a lack of innovation or possibly higher competition? It is very uncertain to understand what truly caused the lower business performance. This argument could be strengthened if an analysis is done unto companies figures. By observing the number of employees, production, sales in the company and conducting market research to find customer feedback and the pricing of competitors, a clearer answer to the mystery of decreased profits could be obtained.

Another flaw in the argument is that the firm believes going back to how they started will solve their problem. However, the argument fails to realize that 2010 may not necessarily be the same as the present due to possible inflation, taxes and consumer spending. Additionally, even though the argument presents 2010 to be the most profitable year, there are no facts to support this massive stance. The argument could be improved, if a factual comparison between the present year and 2010 was made with statistics. The statistics could highlight whether the consumer spending is similar or not or which present city has an economical demographic similar to when they began.

The argument also has the uncertainty with the sum of the profits all the multiple locations each consecutive year. Justifying that profits from all locations are low is not appropriate. Since profits are difference in the revenue and costs, the revenues and costs of each place could be different. Additionally, we are not told of how many locations are opened - it could be 2 or even 200 - which leads to question what is truly the decrease in profit? It could be possible that the costs of each of the 200 locations might be lower than the 2. As such the argument can only be improved by being clear about the figures presented. By representing the number of locations and the general operating cost, a better understanding of the problem.

The argument consists of several uncertainties such as which include the flaw of the time, the mystery of the true cause of lower profits and the factual uncertainty of operating in multiple locations. Because of these assumption, the basis that placing all employees and operations in one office is not convincing, making the argument invalid.