70. The following appeared in a memo from a vice

president of a large, highly diversified company.

In this memo, the vice present expresses that company should use construction Z rather than A for the upcoming building project. However, there are a number of evidences are needed to evaluate if the recommendation is reasonable.

To begin with, the higher construction cost of Z compared with A is not a garantee of better quality. It is possible the average cost in the region where used Z is much more expensive than the region where used A. Besides, the maintain cost of Z which is half of A cannot ever be substantial element, more evidence should be provided why the cost is less, it may be the reason that the company constructed by z didn't pay much attention on maintenance as a, consequently didn't spend as much money as a. But low attention on maintenance could bring more potential problems in the future.

Moreover, it also argues that the energy consumption of z is lower than that of A building every year. As we know, the utility fee of different region may varies significantly. It is possible that the utility cost of Z of same usage is certainly lower than that of A. We need evidence of the utility fee data of these two regions, which may strengthen or waken the argument.

In order to analyze which construction plan is more lucrative, we need reconsider meticulously. First, we need to know if the staff of the two construction companies are the same as last year, because the quality is influenced formidably by the works of various staff. Second, the reason why A charges less than Z is also essential for determination.

To sum up, based on above evidence are not provided, it is not prudent to decide to use any of the two construction plans. Only know the detailed background, could we make better decision.