Archaeologists have long thought that an artifact called the pemchint was used by Dodecan people solely as a musical instrument. Pemchints consist of hollowed pieces of bone, shell, or wood that are tied together with long straps. When whirled in the air, the pemchints create pleasant tones. Until recently, pemchints were found only at locations known to be used for Dodecan rituals and celebrations. Additionally, they were always excavated in proximity to other musical artifacts. Recently, however, a pemchint was found along with Dodecan hunters' tools located miles from the nearest known Dodecan settlement, while no other music-related objects were found in the area. Clearly, then, the pemchint was used by Dodecan hunters, who most probably used the sounds to repel dangerous wildlife.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

From the above explanation it is asserted that pemchint was used by Dodecan hunters to repel dangerous wildlife.But because of the lack of relevant evidence, unaddressed assumptions, the argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

Pemchints as stated above are generally used to create pleasant tones. Mostly soft tones are enjoyed by every creature on earth and there is no possibility that these pleasant tones can scare dangerous wildlife. Generally, harsh sounds are used to scare the wildlife. So, to repel dangerous wildlife one cannot use pleasant tones.

Since pemchints are used by Dodecan people in rituals and celebrations, there is a high probability that the hunter is one among them and he must have used it to entertain himself. The jungles are always scary and have unpleasant silence. To overcome this, the hunters must have carried Pemchints along with hunting tools with them. For example, while going for hunting the Dodean hunter must have carried it with him and used it to entertain himself since there would be no human present in jungle to talk or interact. The only way he could pass his time would have been through the pemchint by listening to its pleasant tones. We just do not know.

Further, the assertion contains ‘most probably’ used to repel wildlife. Here, there is no strong evidence on which one can say that pemchints are used to scare wild animals. The phrase ‘ most probably’ is uncertain and based on this one cannot come to a conclusion. This statement is logically unreliable and flawed.

Additionally, in the above argument it is stated that Pemchints were ‘always’ excavated in proximity to other musical artifacts. So, a single occurrence cannot prove the assertion that pemchints are used by hunters to scare wildlife. The pemchint found along with other Dodecan hunter’s tools may be a mere coincidence. Therefore, unless it is fully representative and reliable, it cannot be used effectively to back the argument.

Finally, examining all the facts one cannot reach to a conclusion that pemchints are used by Dodecan hunters to repel dangerous wildlife. The archaeologists must consider all the valid details and proofs for the assertions and come to a conclusion.