Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Recent years have been witness to increasing global temperature owing to global warming leading to a decline in the ice covers in the polar regions.But the authors take on the decline in the artic deer population on the islands of Canada being an effect of recent global warming trends is based on unsupported reports of the local hunters.Again such a claim is based on the assumption that the hunters are familiar with the entire territory and paths of migration of the artic deer popuation in the canadian isands.Futhermore assumption has been made that the deers in question always used the ice that covered the sea in the winter to travel from island to island is not supported by evidence which can refute the existance of some other alternative path.Thus the melting of the sea ice as a result of global warming thereby hindering the traditional mode of migration cannot be sated as a cause of decline in artic deer population.It can considered as a correlation as most.Owing to the reasons stated above it becomes logically straining to agree with the agument put forward by the author regarding the decrease in deer population.

It has been mentioned that the deer habitat is limited to land that is warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed cold enough to suport the formation of ice on the sea connecting the islands which allow the deers to travel between the islands.Such a description is vague and does not give a definitive location where the deers can be found.Nor the size of their habitat.Thus the report by the hunters stating that their numbers have dwindled does not hold good.Because it can also be considered that the deers simply moved father away from the location in which the hunters used to locate them and hence they were unable to see sufficient number of ders assuming that their numbers has decreased.It also means that the hunters may not be familiar with alternative paths that the deers might be taking while they move from one location to another in their habitat and hence the unsubstanciated reports.

In addition to the vague description of the deer habitat ,assumption has been made that the artics deers need to move from one island to another using the sea ice in search of food.This may not be the case as there may not be a need to move from one isalnd to another as there may be sufficient supply of food present in their habitat to support the population.Hence there may not be much movement of deers giving rise to reports of declining numbers.

In addition to that the assumption that global warming causes decrease declining population of artic deers in canadian islands is unsubstantiated.It can be agreed that that the decrease in the sea ice can be seen an obstacle to the traditional movement of the deers but that does do justice to the claim that such an obstacle has lead to a decrease in the numbers of the deers.Other factors can also achieve the same effect like hunting of deers,introduction of a new predatory species to the deer habitat,some disease that affects deers specifically and death due to accidents such as road accidents.

From the discussion above it can be concluded that the argument made by the author is unsubstanciated and has no evidence to support it.Knowledge of the predatory species in the deer habitat,addition of any new species,better knowledge of deer habitat,alternative migration paths and a better quantitative figure on deer death caused due to human interaction can share further light on the issue.