Argue 75: The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

“The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this letter, the editor recommended that the Batavia government should regulate the retail milk price to ensure fair prices for consumers. This recommendation seems sound at the first glance, but the lack of answers lead me to question the validity of the argument.

First, the author needs to answer the question about the relationship between the number of dairy farms and the milk supply. Although the number of dairy farms increased 25% compared with that of 10 years ago, if the initial number of the dairy farms is minute, then the 25% may not a substantial number. For example, let assume that the initial number of the dairy farm is four. Then the increase of only one dairy farm causes the increase of 25% in total number. Additionally, the number increased is relevant to the number of dairy farms, not the amount of milk supply. Because dairy farms supply various products such as cheese, butter, and yogurt, there may be different tendency in supply of the milk itself, concerning with the number of the dairy farm.

Second, the question about the price raising should be answered for the soundness of the argument. Since the supported data is only the case about Excello Food Market, so this data cannot be considered as general result. It is possible that the price of milk from other store may lower than the Excello Food Market. Thus, the editor should provide the price detail about other stores also. In addition, the increase of price that we check is only the retail price, which may not be directly connected with the wholesale price. Therefore, it may possible that the farmers may not get any additional profits from the raising of the price.

Lastly, the author should answer whether the raise of the price is excessive, and even if it is excessive, whether the regulation from Batavia government is sound. A decade is such a long time: Some products cost triple compared with the price of that decade ago, and some products may cost half compared with the price of that decade ago. Thus, twice may not a big increase when we consider about the time. In addition, the price of milk has been regulated for 10 years by market itself. Thus, if the government regulates the price directly, then it may cause an adverse effect to the demand-supply equilibrium on the price of milk.

In brief, the author’s recommendation is not credible. In order to bolster the argument, the author should provide the answers about the aforementioned questions.