Argument Topic The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced

In the argument, the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company concludes that, by increasing their budget and by incresing their advertising, they will be able to reach a larger audience. The author comes to this conclusion by reviewing their marketing department's "recent" report. This recommendation might be true, however, before the argument can be validated, the following three unwarrented assumptions must be answered by the author.

First of all, is the "recent" report from the marketing department of the Super Screen Movie Production Company is accurate? It is possible that the person who was assigned to keep a track of the number of people attending the movies produced by the Super Screen, didn't do it in a proper or efficient manner. It is also possible that while creating the report, some miscalculation occured. If the above two scenarios are true, then the author's assumption is weakened.

Second of all, is the the percentage of positive reviews last year, is representative of the current year or the future years? Perhaps last year, the movies produced by the Super Screen movies were actually of a very good quality as compared to their other movies. It also might be possible that, the percentage increase in the positive reviews might be very small. If this percent increase was very small, as stated above, then this assumption hampers the author's conclusion.

Finally, the author assumes that the movies produced by them are not very successful because of the public's lack of awareness and because of the quality of the movies produced by them. It might be possible that, the Super Screen movies are not able to convey a proper message to the audience. It is also possible, that the movie uses some jargon, due to which most of the public is not able to grasp the concept which the movie is trying to show. If the above stated assumptions are true, then it weakens the authors recommendation.

To conclude, the author's assumption might eventually prove true, if the author is able to answer the above stated questions.