argument:Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold e

The author of the presented article argues that global warming and subsequent melting of arctic ice is the cause of declining arctic deer populations. He believes that melting sea ice is affecting their migration pattern which is the cause of decline in population. The arguments seem cogent at the face value but the underlying assumptions may prove the conclusion to be fallacious.

The author cites reports from hunters as the evidence for supporting his claim of fall in deer population. It is plausible that the deer have shifted to a different island unknown to hunters which will lead in underestimation of their population by hunters. The argument that deer population is declining cannot be warranted by mere reports from deer hunters. Deer population should be assessed by a scientific demographic exercise.

To establish the link between falling population and global warming author cites the recent global warming trends which coincide with the declining deer population. Just because two events are coinciding doesn’t mean one is the cause of other. A new disease might have originated among arctic deer which is causing this decline. It is plausible that the predator population might have increased leading to faster killing of deer. A falling population can probably be a result of reckless hunting by hunters shifting the blame on global warming.

Author concludes that sea ice melting is leading to change in migration patterns of deer. In the process he assumes the sea ice melt is occurring in the habitat of arctic deer. There is a possibility that the northern areas of Arctic are still not affected by global warming. We need more information regarding the weather of the habitat of arctic deer to draw any conclusion. Even if sea ice melts arctic deer may have ability to swim keep their migration patterns intact. Information regarding the distances between islands and their geography would help in better assessing the claim. The argument that migration is necessary for deer survival is fallacious as the global warming would lead to increased heating making the island more suitable for vegetation growth eliminating the need for migration.

Conclusively, the author does not provide persuasive arguments to strengthen his claim. With each enumerated argument being potentially unwarranted, the conclusion which is based on such a` inconclusive argument is not tenable.