“ On Balmer Island, where moped serve as a popular mode of transportation, the population increases to 100000 during summer months. To reduce the no. of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island’s moped rental companies from 50per day to 25 per day during the summer. By limiting the number of moped rentals, the town council will attain 50% annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighbouring island of Seaville’s town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.”

In the given argument, the author compares Balmer island with Seaville island, and concludes that decreasing the number of moped rental will reduce 50% moped accidents on Balmer island. Insofar, the recommendation he puts seem plausible. However, the premises he lays out are rather hasty, cursory and cogently does not present a bolstering case for the conclusion. The premises, if not substantiated, will dramatically undermine the pervasiveness of conclusion. Therefore, before jumping into conclusion, three questions must be answered.

First and foremost, the author implies that condition of Balmer island and Seaville island are comparable, but fails to mention on what aspect are they similar. For instance, most popular means of transportation in Seaville might not be moped, or perhaps there might not be enough influx of people during summer as there is in case of Balmer island. Furthermore, the conditions of routes for transportation of two islands are not mentioned which can also come into account for accidents. Increased number of accident cases can be result of dangerous road, lack of stringent safety rules, or perhaps no rules on speed limit. If any of these scenarios has merit, then the authors claim is unwarranted. So, these small details shall also be meticulously studied and presented.

Additionally, the author assumes, without evidence, that accidents are solo cause of both objects: pedestrian and moped. However, this might not be the case. For example, accidents between two cars can actually be due to reason of deteriorated road, not just due to over vehicle density. Instead of recommending reduction of the number of moped, focus cab be shifted on betterment of the existing condition.

Finally, the town council, who are exact with the number of reduction of moped from 50 to 25 do not present any such case for these exact reduction. May be, moped numbers need to be reduced to just 40 or may be to even 10. There is no clarification to this in the argument. Also, the argument does not mention about the period of accidents. The argument contention is that there will be 50% reduction in accident rate annually, but decreasing of moped is only implemented for the summer. So, question remains, does reduction of these moped for just summer account for decreasing annual reduction by 50%. However, if this does not hold true, then question can be raised which can dramatically weaken the pervasiveness of given argument.

In conclusion, restriction of moped from 50 to 25 might prove to lessen accidents number. However, as it stands now, the argument is predicated on three unstated assumptions that render its conclusion leaving the argument specious, and can be challenged. So, the author needs to be more exhaustive in his study and offer supplementary premises to corroborate the given argument.