"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation above has many unanswered questions, without the answer to which the recommendation will not give the predicted results. Let’s look at those questions.

Firstly, we don’t know if the cause of the accidents is increase in number of mopeds on road. It might be because people walking on road don’t follow traffic rules or as a whole people don’t follow. Or the accidents may be because of the bad roads or drunk driving. It is not clear that increase in number of mopeds on road is directly related to increase in number of accidents.

On the similar lines, even if increase in number of mopeds is the cause of accident, limiting number of mopeds rented still wouldn’t guarantee decrease in number of accidents. People might get their own means of transport, or number of people walking on road might increase. It is assumed that these possibilities won’t occur. But, we don’t know that for sure.

The author speaks about Seaville island and how similar limitation caused 50% reduction in number of accidents. We don’t know if population of Seaville and Balmer are comparable, or the roads infrastructures are similar in both the islands. It might be possible that cause of accidents in Seaville is not same as that of Balmer. We can’t directly compare the two islands for same results, if we don’t have similar conditions for both.

Without answers to the above questions, we can’t cogently say that the recommendation will give the predicted results.