In the Bayhead Public Library, books that are rarely borrowed continue to take up shelf space year after year, while people who want to read a recent novel frequently find that the library's only copy is checked out. Clearly, the library's plan to replace books that are borrowed no more than once a year with sufficient copies of more recent books will solve this problem. The protest we have heard since this plan was made public has come from a small, and thus unrepresentative, group of some thirty people and so should therefore be ignored.

The given memo discuss a conundrum that the management of Bayhead Public Library faces due to the variability in the demand of different books. The author's argument, which states that more copies of recently published book that are more popular should be ordered and should replace old books, which are not often checked out. This logic is based on several fallacies and needs more evidence to make a decision.

First of all, the statement that rate books take up extra shelf-space might only be due to the fact that these books are not often taken by readers. Furthermore, the value of these books is not necessarily represented in the total volume it occupies but rather in the knowledge it imparts. Moreover, there is no mention of how many rare books there are and whether these rare books occupies a major proportion of the space in the library.

Secondly, the speculation that just by purchasing new books, the persistent problem will be solved is not supported by any further evidence. In addition to this, how many of the new books needs to be purchased and whether the expense of this book will be worth the investment, that is whether the return on investment will be satisfactory needs to be analyzed. Overall, this line of reasoning does not solve the issue since more money is invested without any evidence of higher profits.

Lastly, but not least, the protest stirred up by the public announcement needs proper attention. This is because the total number of regular members who come to the library is unknown, and the possibility that they might represent a majority proportion cannot be ruled out. One other issue might be that these thirty members might read both the rare books as well as the contemporary books.

Therefore, with the several flaws stated and explained, the argument presented by the author is insufficient to make a decision. The statements need to be further verified with proper surveys and feedback from users so that a more logical and strategic decision can be taken.