Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author concludes that in order to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should use margarine in the restaurants. However, to make the claim more convincing, several assumptions in the arguments need supports.

First, the author mentions that only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that 98 percent of customers are happy with the change. An assumption here is that the author believes that these percentage of complaint is reliable. However, this is flawed because we do not know how the restaurant get this number and the procedure of complaint. If the procedure of complaint is too complicated and takes much time, then the customers may reluctant to do. In other words, 2 percent of complaint does not mean 98 percent of customers like this change because maybe there are lots of people do not like this change but do not do the complaint.

Next, the author says that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they get margarine instead. The author assumes that the customers are willing to complain when they get margarine and the report from servers can represent for all customers. However, this is problematic. Some customers may feel embarrassing to complain to servers, so they do not complain but they feel unhappy when they do not get butter. Moreover, the servers who get complaints may not report correctly. The servers may be too busy to tell the manager that they get complaints, or the servers do not want to dissatisfied the manager or get penalized for not being able to handle the customers. In these cases, we can not make a quick conclusion that customers do not unhappy when they get margarine because we do not know.

Third, the author assumes that the change in the restaurants throughout the southwestern United States can be applied in the restaurants throughout the rest of the country. Nevertheless, this assumption needs more evidence to support. Because the taste in southwestern United States may be different to the rest of the country, we can not conclude that this change will implement successfully.