The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light emitting diodes LEDs The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn

The argument consists many unstated assumptions and unaswered questions, which is followed by bold claims. It is crucial to address these gaps in the argument to decide wheter the city council's proposal will actually help to save money or if it just a waste of valuable resources which could otherwise used to improve other aspects of the city.

The argument is based on the assumption that incandescent bulbs (IBs) contribute to major portion to the city's electrical expenses. The author, however, does not provide any data to support this unstated assumtion. We would require data regarding the number of IBs in all the public buildings of the city to consider whether the switch from IBs to LEDs would indeed lead to a significant reduction in the overall electric expenses.

The author further ignores the various other factors such as air conditioners, ceiling and table fans, televisions, etc. that could contribute to the electric expenses. Is the cost portion of IBs comparable to the cost of the above mentioned factors? It could be possible that IBs contribute to only 10% of the total electric expenses. It this is true, it would seriously undermine the council's prediction.

The author also fails to provide data regarding the difference in expenses that would result from the switch from IBs to LEDs, or whether it would lead to any difference at all. He only mentions that they "burn brighter and cost no more to purchase" - which is insufficient to conclude that the switch would help the city council to save money.

Another aspect to be considered is the life of LEDs. Is its life analogous to that of IBs? If the life of LEDs turn out to be lesser than that of IBs then it could result in an opposite result, i.e., an increase in electric expenses since repeated puchases would be required to replace the dead LEDs.

The major flaws in the argument lie in the unstated assumptions and the lack of reliable data to supprot the claims. Addressing the questions mentioned above would help to evaluate the efficacy of the city council's proposal, and make their prediction more credible.